The University of Mississippi Law Library
Technology Guide: The Internet and
the World Wide Web
The Law Library has computer labs on the 2nd and 3rd floor, combining
for 26 computers. Through the internet they offer numerous electronic
databases for research and the latest software for briefs, outlines etc..
Our software includes:
- Corel WordPerfect Suite 2002 (WordPerfect 10 and Quattro Pro 10)
- Microsoft Office 2002 (Word, Excel, Outlook, and Powerpoint)
- Netscape Navigator 4.78
- Internet Explorer 6.0
- TeraTerm Pro 2.3 with secure shell 1.5 (telnet)
- CALI (Computer Assisted Legal Instruction)
- Acrobat Reader 5
The The computer labs are open the same hours as the law library. Classes
scheduled in labs have priority over all other uses and are generally
limited to Law students, and is governed by the Computing
Services appropriate use policy. First-year law students will receive
their LEXIS and WESTLAW passwords directly from their Legal Research and
Writing Instructors after the beginning of the Fall semester.
The University also provides access to several public labs. The Public
Microcomputer Lab (915-7004) in Weir
Hall contains PC and Macintosh computers. Its hours are Monday-Thursday,
7 a.m. - 12 a.m.; Friday, 7 a.m. - 10 p.m.; Saturday, 12 p.m. - 6 p.m.;
and Sunday, 12 p.m. - 12 a.m. (during the regular school year). The Writing
Center (915-7689) located in Kinard
Hall has 4 PC and 12 Macintosh Performa computers, as well as
writing consultants available to assist student writers with their assignments,
offering advice and suggestions in such areas as revision strategies,
structure and organization, idea development and support, and problems
with language. Its hours are Monday-Saturday, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m. (during
the regular school year). The Computer Lab (915-3999) in the School
of Business Administration, located in the basement of Conner-Holman
Hall, is also available to all Ole Miss students. Its hours are
Monday-Thursday, 8 a.m. - 9 p.m., and Friday, 8 a.m. - 5 p.m. (during
the regular school year).
For students who wish to work from home, the University of Mississippi
provides limited dial-in access. A guide
to Dial-in Services is available at
http://www.olemiss.edu/online/nexus2.html or you can contact the
IT Helpdesk for assistance
at 915-5222. There are also several local Internet
Service Providers in Lafayette County.
Your Internet Account
Every student at the University of Mississippi is given a computer account
for e-mail and Web page development on the campus server, sunset.backbone.olemiss.edu.
Students are also given accounts on the campus dial-in server, nexus.
Students can pick up account information during orientation and registration,
or by visiting the IT Helpdesk in Powers Hall. You may apply for an account
by visiting the IT Helpdesk in Powers Hall or, if you have an Internet
connection, by connecting to the account application system. From the
Internet: telnet to sunset.backbone.olemiss.edu and log
in as apply. Be sure to read the IT
Appropriate Use Policy before you begin using your account.
Your Ole Miss account name is usually a combination of your first and
last name and the University of Mississippi’s Internet mail address. In
most cases, your account will include the first initial of your first
name and first seven letters of your last name. The mail address is sunset.backbone.olemiss.edu
and is separated from the account name by the @ symbol. A student
whose name is Homer Simpson might have the e-mail address:
hsimpson@sunset.backbone.olemiss.edu
If another student already has the name hsimpson, Homer may be
called hsimpso2 or some other combination of his first and last
names. For more information contact the IT
Helpdesk in Powers Hall, 915-5222, or helpdesk@olemiss.edu.
Accessing the World Wide Web The computers
in the Law Library have 2 web browsers installed, Netscape Navigator and
Microsoft Internet Explorer. You will find that the WWW (World Wide Web)
is useful for research as well as for providing a break from your studies.
The Law Library staff has created an online guide to many Legal
Resources available on the web.
Accessing Library Catalogs and Online Databases
The Law Library catalog is available via the Internet, both through
the WWW and through telnet software. The URL (uniform resource locator)
is louis.law.olemiss.edu [login
as library].
The computer catalog system contains records of all Law Library holdings.
The on-line system is easy to use. You may find it particularly helpful
to use the "Word Search" function which allows you to search for a book
by keywords located in the title, subject heading. Through our online
catalog and through the Legal
Resources page, we have access to several online
databases.
The main library for the University of Mississippi is the J. D. Williams
Library, located directly behind the Lyceum building. Its telephone number
for Reference and Information is 915-5855. The J. D. Williams library
has branch collections for Science, Education, and Music. The library
also serves as a regional government depository for this area. It has
an extensive collection of U.S. documents located on the first floor of
the library. It also serves as a depository for government documents for
the State of Mississippi. The telephone number for Government and Business
Information is 915-5857.
Law students have circulation privileges at the J. D. Williams Library.
However, materials in some special collections cannot circulate and must
be used there.
The J. D. Williams library catalog
is also available online [login as olemiss]. The Main Library
at the University of Mississippi offers access to a number of online databases
that are accessible from anywhere on campus. A complete list
is available online.
Technical Support If you need assistance
with the computers in the law school, feel free to contact any member
of the Public Services Staff or anyone at the Reference desk in the Law
Library. If you are at home you can also call the IT Helpdesk, where you
can get assistance with both hardware and software problems. The IT Helpdesk
staff is available Monday through Friday, from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
|