The University of Mississippi Law Library
Internet Resources: Poverty Law
Government Benefits
- Government
Benefits Law: Databases and Statistics -- FindLaw directory.
- Catalog of Federal Domestic
Assistance (CFDA) -- a government-wide compendium of all 1,425 Federal
programs, projects, services, and activities that provide assistance or benefits to the
American public (includes many relevant program websites).
- Social Security Online-- This site provides a wealth of information on
social security benefits for people who are retired or disabled, including forms, information pamphlets, fiscal reports, projected social security benefits,
laws and regulations, and proposed regulations.
Consumer Law
Domestic Violence
Elder Law
- Kansas
Elder Law Network -- Elder law practitioners should find this site to be very
helpful. The site has its own search engine, which is good because the site is quite
comprehensive. It contains links to publications relevant to elder law,
such as annotated bibliographies, law review articles, the HCFA manuals
and the Kansas Public Assistance Manual. There are also numerous links to
legal assistance, advocacy groups, and government resources.
- Compendium of Elder Abuse Law --
By Michael Schwartz (an elder law attorney).
Housing
Immigration
Poverty and Homelessness Issues in General
- National Coalition for the Homeless -- This
site includes information on
pending legislation, the federal budget, grants, links to numerous sites
on issues that concern people who are homeless (housing, AIDS, health law,
employment, etc.). The NCH also publishes fact sheets on various aspects
of homelessness. Each sheet summarizes facts and issues and contains a
list of recommended reading for further research.
|